Ruminations

The chewy thoughts of a queer Christian

Friends and Lovers

I came out to one of my friends just a few days ago. I told him ‘I’m sorta gay’ by text message, to which his response was, ‘Thanks for telling me! This does in no way affect our friendship!’ I was very, very happy. It was the right time to tell him.

‘Sorta gay’ has meaning. I’ve been trying to figure out over the last few months just what I am. I don’t easily identify as gay – I’m not exclusively attracted to men. I’m not effeminate, and I don’t have a supernatural fashion sense nor an eye for interior design. I certainly don’t identify as straight – I’m not much of a bloke, to say the least. Bisexual is an overstatement because that might make people think I actually want a relationship with a woman. I consider myself a 70% gay, a diet gay, an almost gay. I’m halfway between bisexual and gay.

This puts me in an odd place in terms of friendship. I have never been effeminate enough to really get along with girls in a ‘gay best friend’ role. I’m not one for relationship counselling given that I’ve never been in a relationship and have a tendency towards over-rationalizing. And I’m not one for fashion advice nor boyfriend talk. And I have never been masculine enough to get along with guys who will talk about football and sex – especially given my fear of coming out or being ‘discovered’. Nonetheless, growing up I usually stuck with a select group of male and female friends with whom I felt comfortable.

But. Being gay, and spending time with men, has a certain side effect. I fall in love with the men I befriend; or, I end up befriending the men I fall in love with. Falling in love with straight men is devastating. It hurts, and I’m tired of it. I consider coming out to my new friend a major step because it demonstrates the first time I have come out to a person I befriended conscious of my own identity. It represents a line: I am gay, you are straight – we are friends, and not lovers. That relationship is safe, and close, and incredibly valuable to me. But it is queer. It is not ‘we are friends’ – there is a caveat: ‘and not lovers’.

The settling and acceptance of my identity has made me keenly, painfully aware of my desire for a partner. A boyfriend. A lover. A man with whom to share my life. By life I mean not clock hours, but the force which animates and makes me human. Each time I meet a new man I am usually thinking, is he gay and available? Would we make a good couple? My friendships have an agenda. It is disconcerting to start with, though it usually passes when I become sure of their heterosexuality. Friendship across the divide is hard – but it does make for good friendships.

Yeah. I need some gay friends.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

How To Be A Hipster Without Really Trying

Just another WordPress.com site

Mr Ken Brown

GREATNESS

gaydad1974

Musings of a gay dad

Gay Everyday

Helping and Encouraging Gay (Christian) Men

This Is a Blog

Ruining My Professional Reputation One Blog Post at a Time.

uhm...

the (occasionally) banal musings of t-dub

Spiritual Friendship

Musings on God, friendship, relationships

I like argyle.

political rants from an extremely liberal nerd with ridiculously good fashion sense

a better story

learning to choose quality over quantity one day at a time

TwoDads.Org

Centering Fatherhood for Gay Men

gaysalvationist

A place for LGBTQ Salvationists and Allies

Confessions of a Skeptical Evangelical

The Questions and Thoughts of a Nobody...

Tyler: A Blog

Ponderings of a (former?) Christian gay sex addict...

on this train of life

thoughts, experiences and lessons learned as i go through this wondrous journey known as 'living'

Worst. Christian. Ever.

Musings on the modern American Christian landscape. Blah.

Stillforus

Bryan Currie: a place for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) Christians to think about how gay and God can fit together

Coming Out Christian

One liberation under God...

Gay Chronicles

Chronicling the life of an ordinary gay

