Ruminations

The chewy thoughts of a queer Christian

Did God make me gay?

Suddenly it really matters.

It’s not because I need to feel that being gay is legitimate. It’s not that I need You created my inmost beingpermission to be me.

It is because being a Christian, I want to trust my whole life to God. I want to live a congruent life. I don’t want to section off bits of my being and say: I follow one set of principles here and another set of principles there.

And being a gay Christian means I need to be able to trust my relationships to God’s hands. If God made me gay, I can presume that, following His will, I should eventually find a man and have a happy and fulfilling relationship. If God didn’t make me gay, presumably no such relationship is in store for me.

(There is a third alternative: that God made me gay and still doesn’t want me to have a relationship. That’s a whole other question…)

Can I follow God and still seek a partner? Or is that diverging from His plan?

Gay couple

Would God bless my relationship?

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Did God make me gay?

  1. I feel for you as I am there as well. I do believe that God wanted me to go through being gay. He knew what would happen to me in my life because He knows everything. The questions revolve around love and sexuality, both two complicated and tough topics. Right now I believe that I can be in committed relationship with another man (no marriage and no sex) and go to Heaven. The Bible does not condemn same sex relationships, just the act of sexual relations with same gender people (if taking the Bible in a literal sense).

    I wish you the best! If God gives you some more insight into this, please feel free to share. Ultimately, your relationship is between you and God. Since this is true, we need to follow the convictions God gives us and not follow what everyone else is doing.

  2. I’m not qualified to even try to answer your questions. Just know that God loves you just as much as He loves anyone else, and He will see you through. Pray and ask Him these things. He will answer you.

  3. I am currently reading God vs. Gay?: The Religious Case for Equality by Jay Michaelson. It is changing my life. If you get the chance, I would recommend checking it out.

    • Thanks, I’ll add it to the list! Although I’ll probably read ‘Love is an Orientation’ by Andrew Marin first…

      • That is on my list of books to read as well. Andrew Marin actually visited my college, back when I was attending there, and did a series. I enjoyed him.

Leave a Reply

How To Be A Hipster Without Really Trying

Just another WordPress.com site

Mr Ken Brown

GREATNESS

gaydad1974

Musings of a gay dad

Gay Everyday

Helping and Encouraging Gay (Christian) Men

This Is a Blog

Ruining My Professional Reputation One Blog Post at a Time.

uhm...

the (occasionally) banal musings of t-dub

Spiritual Friendship

Musings on God, friendship, relationships

I like argyle.

political rants from an extremely liberal nerd with ridiculously good fashion sense

a better story

learning to choose quality over quantity one day at a time

TwoDads.Org

Centering Fatherhood for Gay Men

gaysalvationist

A place for LGBTQ Salvationists and Allies

Confessions of a Skeptical Evangelical

The Questions and Thoughts of a Nobody...

Tyler: A Blog

Ponderings of a (former?) Christian gay sex addict...

on this train of life

thoughts, experiences and lessons learned as i go through this wondrous journey known as 'living'

Worst. Christian. Ever.

Musings on the modern American Christian landscape. Blah.

Stillforus

Bryan Currie: a place for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) Christians to think about how gay and God can fit together

Coming Out Christian

One liberation under God...

Gay Chronicles

Chronicling the life of an ordinary gay

